Thursday, August 3, 2017

FINLAND: Black Motor - Branches (2017)

1. But Not Willingly
2. At The Red End Of The World
3. Decision Jump
4. Blue Eyes Cryin' In The Rain
5. Branches (Citizen Music)
6. Tulee Päivä
7. Longer The Distance, Sweeter The Sound
8. Letting Go (Was Part Of the Plan)

released June 2, 2017

Tane Kannisto: tenor, alto & baritone saxophones, nagaswaram
Ville Rauhala: double bass
Simo Laihonen: drums & percussion

Introspective fire music from Black Motor, one of the best kept secrets in the Finnish scene. Powerful free music brimming with energy, melodic innovation, and a strong sense of unity within the trio. Long-time members bassist Ville Rauhala and drummer Simo Laihonen are joined here by sax man Tane Kannisto (previously known from Sound And Fury) to deliver a strong musical statement, and a convincing next step for Black Motor. Especially recommended for listeners with a taste for melodic free music, such as Art Ensemble of Chicago, Anthony Braxton, and Archie Shepp, to mention but a few.