Wednesday, December 21, 2016

USA: Mack Avenue Records Proudly Welcomes Three World-Class Artists to Critically Acclaimed Roster

Mack Avenue Records Proudly Welcomes
Three World-Class Artists to Critically Acclaimed Roster

Cameron Graves, Joey DeFrancesco, and Billy Childs

From left to right: Cameron Graves (photo credit: Anna Webber)
Joey DeFrancesco (photo credit: Jay Gilbert)  |  Billy Childs (photo credit: Raj Naik)

Mack Avenue Records is concluding a momentous year with the announcement of three major additions to their critically acclaimed roster. Cameron Graves, Joey DeFrancesco, and Billy Childs are all now proud members of a record label that boasts numerous Grammy® Award-winning artists and forward-thinking musicians, with these illustrious additions each bringing a fresh perspective with new releases coming in early 2017.
Visionary pianist, keyboardist, composer, and West Coast Get Down founding member Cameron Graves is eager to release his highly anticipated debut album, Planetary Prince, with Mack Avenue Records on February 24, 2017. Upon signing, Graves' nearly released four song EP was expanded to an eight track album that features longtime collaborators including saxophonist Kamasi Washington, trumpeter Philip Dizack, trombonist Ryan Porter, bassist Stephen "Thundercat" Bruner, bassist Hadrien Feraud, and drummer Ronald Bruner, Jr. Graves has lead a notable career outside of WCGD, however he credits the bands fluidity and raw energy on this recording to their history together. "We all grew up listening together to hip-hop and rock and metal and jazz, so we all know where we're going and how to complement it," he explains. "It's just intuition."
Widely regarded as peerless on the Hammond B3 organ, Joey DeFrancesco will release his first ever quartet album in an impassioned tale of love and peace with Project Freedom on March 10, 2017. Aside from the always prominent influence of his hometown of Philadelphia, the album is largely inspired by the differing viewpoints he has been exposed to from years of globetrotting and world touring. "I always thought that as touring musicians, we were spreading peace," he explains. "No matter what happens in the world, we keep playing. In a lot of the so-called forbidden places too. When we're there, through war and conflict, problems melt away through music." Joey DeFrancesco & The People, a unit he'll tour with in 2017, features guitarist Dan Wilson, saxophonist Troy Roberts, and drummer Jason Brown.
Over the years, four-time Grammy® Award-winner Billy Childs' career has spanned into the far reaches of the musical spectrum. Garnering critical acclaim along the way, the famed pianist is now returning to his jazz roots with Rebirth--his first outing for Mack Avenue Records, available March 24, 2017. Joined by saxophonist Steve Wilson, bassist Hans Glawischnig, and drummer Eric Harland--along with guests including vocalists Alicia Olatuja and Claudia Acuna, trombonist Ido Meshulam, and percussionist Rogerio Boccato--the album serves as a career retrospective and marks the 40th anniversary of Childs' recording debut with trombone-great J.J. Johnson, while also signaling his return to the small band jazz world and reigniting the transcendent intimacy he recalls from ensembles early on in his career, while updating with a more modern sensibility.
Mack Avenue Records is ushering in the future of jazz while honoring and preserving the past during a pivotal time for the genre. With these additions following shortly after their acquisition of MAXJAZZ, the record label continues to be a leader in jazz and beyond. 

Cameron Graves · Planetary Prince
Release Date: February 24, 2017
Featuring: Kamasi Washington, saxophone | Philip Dizack, trumpet
Ryan Porter, trombone | Stephen "Thundercat" Bruner, bass
Hadrien Feraud, bass | Ronald Bruner, Jr., drums
Joey DeFrancesco · Project Freedom
Release Date: March 10, 2017
Featuring: Dan Wilson, guitar | Troy Roberts, saxophone | Jason Brown, drums
Billy Childs · Rebirth
Release Date: March 24, 2017
Featuring: Steve Wilson, saxophone | Hans Glawischnig, bass
Eric Harland, drums | Alicia Olatuja, vocals | Claudia Acuna, vocals
Ido Meshulam, trombone | Rogerio Boccato, percussion

For media inquiries, please contact:
DL Media Music · 610-667-0501
Maureen McFadden ·
Matthew Jurasek ·
Don Lucoff ·
For press materials on Mack Avenue artists or its family of imprints
(including album covers, promotional photos and logos), please visit
MACK AVENUE · the road to great music ·