Monday, June 27, 2016

GERMANY Sinikka Langeland , Trygve Seim, Arve Henriksen, Anders Jormin-The Magical Forest (ECM 2016)

The Magical ForestSinikka Langeland: kantele, vocals; Trygve Seim: soprano and tenor saxophones; Arve Henriksen: trumpet; Anders Jormin: double bass; Markku Ounaskari: drums, percussion
Anna Maria Frieman, Berit Opheim; Linn Andrea Fuglseth: vocals

The colors of The Magical Forest glow in this remarkable recording which brings together Sinikka Langelands Norwegian-Finnish-Swedish Starflowers quintet with the singers of the Trio Medi val.

Its an inspired concept: the Trio Medi val, with their affinity for folk music and their unique vocal blend, adapt themselves ideally to Sinikkas sound-world, which is at once archaic, timeless and contemporary.

The quintet members, all bandleaders in their own right, are amongst the most characterful players in Scandinavia today, and Sinikka sets them free to improvise around her cycle of songs, built upon myths and legends of the world tree.

The Magical Forest was recorded at Oslos Rainbow Studio in February 2015, and produced by Manfred Eicher.