Tuesday, July 23, 2019

USA: Markus Howell "Get Right!" catalog: PR8198 release date: June 27, 2019

Markus Howell
"Get Right!"
catalog: PR8198
release date: June 27, 2019

Alto saxophonist Markus Howell unleashes a big sound on his strong debut, "Get Right!" The album features a well-balanced program of Howell's exciting compositions along with a few tasty covers thrown in for good measure. Howell is joined on the date by front line special guests trombonist Michael Dease and trumpet player Joe Magnarelli, and receives solid support from his rhythm section of pianist Art Hirahara, bassist Rodney Whitaker, and drummer Luther Allison. This hard-hitting session really swings solidly from beginning to end, and will certainly delight straight forward jazz fans everywhere. We feel confident our ardent and dedicated listeners will elicit an engaging response when Markus Howell's dynamic performances suggest an earful of good reasons for them to "Get Right!"

1. Get Right (M. Howell)    4:57
2. One For Craig (M. Howell)     6:22
3. Warfare (M. Howell)    5:05
4. Dear Sir (W. Shorter)    5:41
5. Out Of The Night (J. Henderson)    4:16
6. Glory Days (M. Howell)    5:14
7. Bruh Slim (J. Heath)    5:00
8. Inner Being (M. Howell)    7:28
9. Faithful (M. Howell)    5:17
10. Blues For WJ (M. Howell)    5:00

Markus Howell - alto sax (flute on 4)
Joe Magnarelli - trumpet
Michael Dease - trombone
Art Hirahara - piano
Rodney Whitaker - bass
Luther Allison - drums

produced by Marc Free
buy from Posi-Tone
buy • listen • stream