Saturday, June 9, 2018

USA: Lauren Sevian "Bliss"(2018)

new music release:

Lauren Sevian "Bliss"

Buy Now!
Baritone saxophonist Lauren Sevian lets her instrument do the talking when she boldly opens her heart and mind to share her “Bliss” on her first release for Posi-Tone. Assembled to provide support on the date is the wondrously solid rhythm section of virtuoso pianist Robert Rodriguez, superstar bassist Christian McBride, and powerhouse drummer E.J. Strickland. Special guest alto saxophonist Alexa Tarantino provides some additional highlights to the mix on a few tracks. With a tour de force realization of her talents as both a composer and an instrumentalist, Sevian maps out a melodious journey of harmonic discovery as she takes listeners along with her to explore an exciting program of original compositions that shine continuously with bright moments. Sevian’s musical vibrations have noticeably shifted onto another level, and this set of stunning performances should encourage jazz enthusiasts everywhere to tune more deeply to her musical message of “Bliss” with increased amazement and delight.
1. Triple Water    5:59
2. Square One    4:39
3. Bliss    4:31
4. Bluesishness    5:35
5. Goldies Chance    5:50
6. Miss Lady    5:45
7. Lamb And Bunny    4:45
8. In The Loop    6:45
9. Evergreen    6:22
10. Minimal Moves    4:52
all compositions by Lauren Sevian except 2 by Alexa Tarantino
Lauren Sevian - baritone sax
Alexa Tarantino - alto sax
Robert Rodriquez - piano
Christian McBride - bass
E.J. Strickland - drums
produced by Marc Free

links to music: