Sunday, December 10, 2017

ITALY/USA: Roberto Magris: Roberto Magris Sextet Live In Miami @ The WDNA Jazz Gallery(JMood 2017)

A New Window Into Roberto Magris Successful Career As A Composer And Pianist, Featuring Remarkable Moments And Fresh Perspectives To His Own Compositions, Here Arranged For A Brilliant Sextet Which Includes High Caliber Musicians Such As Grammy Award Winner Brian Lynch(Trumpet), Jonathan Gomez(Tenor Sax), Chuck Bergereon(Bass), John Yarling(Drums) And Murph Aucamp(Congas).

This supergroup delivers an unforgettable performance where blues, be bop, Latin themes come together in an exciting natural blend of enjoyable contrasts and balances that made the delight of the audience throughout the show. The spirit is high, all the musicians shine and swing in strong solos or playing together with plenty of virtuosity.

Album spotlights are many and as we can hear being happily appreciated with standing ovations.The breathtaking fluid piano solo on "Standard Life", the trumpet bursts on the opener "African Mood", the sparkling "What Blues" , the elegant melodic "Song for an African Child" with piano and brass section in a fascinating dialogue, the Latin flavored "Chachanada" a showcase of exhilarating solos, "II Bello Del Jazz" with its lively elegant swing and the danceable "Standard Life". Roberto Magris puts his creative stamp on Strayhorn's "A Flower is a Lovesome Thing" played in a rather unconventional way, while the mellow tone of the Rahsaan Roland Kirk "April Morning" finds a perfect spot on the album which ends with the finesse of the " Blues For My Sleeping Baby"

"Live In Miami 2017" Is A Celebration Of Jazz At His Best And A Rewarding Vibrant Musical Experience For The Jazz Fans Who Didn't Have The Chance To Be In The Audience.Track Listing

African Mood, What Blues?, Song For An African Child, April Morning, Chachanada, II Bello Del Jazz, A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing, Standard Life, Blues For My Sleeping Baby

Roberto Magris, acoustic piano, Brian Lynch, trumpet, Chuck Bergeron, acoustic bass, John Yarling, drums, Jonathan Gomez, tenor sax, Murph Aucamp, percussion