Saturday, July 22, 2017

UK: Rob Luft- Riser (2017)

ROB LUFT guitar
JOE WRIGHT tenor saxophone
JOE WEBB hammond organ, piano and harmonium

1. Night Songs 5.20 // 2. Riser 6.15 // 3. Beware 4.44 // 4. Slow Potion 2.33 // 5. Different Colours Of Silence 3.40 // 6. Dust Settles 5.04 // 7. Shorty 3.53 // 8. Blue, White and Dreaming 3.41 9. St. Brian I 5.57 // 10. We Are All Slowly Leaving 8.15

All music by Rob Luft except ‘Shorty’ by Rob Luft, Tom McCredie and Corrie Dick

Riser is the new album from London-born award-winning guitarist Rob Luft. A musician of incredible talent, depth and maturity, Rob Luft is set to become a name to remember. At only 23 years of age his proficiency as a guitarist and composer embodies a level of musicianship and vision well beyond his years. A winner of the prestigious Kenny Wheeler Music Prize as well as placing second in The 2016 Montreux Jazz Guitar Competition, Rob is already garnering praise from critics across Europe. The UK’s Jazzwise Magazine has highlighted his “obvious star quality” and Riser is an album that stands up to scrutiny as one of the finest debut records in many years in the burgeoning creative current UK Jazz scene.

“Riser marks the first occasion on which I’ve released a selection of my original songs. I have always considered myself as being primarily a performer and secondly a composer” says Rob “and feel more at home standing on the kind of “Riser” that can be found in London’s jazz clubs rather than sitting at home writing music.”