Thursday, May 25, 2017

USA:Alex Cline's Flower Garland Orchestra- Oceans of Vows (Cryptogramophone 2017)

Alex Cline's Oceans of Vows is a deluxe box set of music drawing inspiration from four poems by Buddhist teacher Thich Nhat Hanh, as well as excerpts from the Buddhist text known as the Avatamsaka Sutra. It's performed by composer/percussionist Alex Cline and his all-star 14-piece Flower Garland Orchestra, featuring Nels Cline, Yuka C. Honda, and many stalwarts of the L.A. creative music community
Areni Agbabian, voice
Chi Li, erhu, zhonghu, zheng, qin
Jeff Gauthier, electric violin
Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, electric 5-string violin
Maggie Parkins, cello
Will Salmon, flute, recorders
Nels Cline, electric guitars
G.E. Stinson, electric guitars
Wayne Peet, electric piano, organ
Yuka C. Honda, electric keyboards, samples
Scott Walton, bass, keyboard
Brad Dutz, vibraphone, hand drums, crotales, gongs, percussion
Alex Cline, drums, gongs, percussion
Vicki Ray, conductor