Sunday, February 5, 2017

USA: The Hot Club Of San Francisco - John Paul George & Django (2016)

John, Paul, George & Django

1. All My Lovin'
2. Because
3. Michelle
4. I Will
5. Here, There And Everywhere
6. You Won't See Me
7. The Fool On The Hill
8. If I Needed Someone
9. Julia
10. You Can't Do That
11. For No One
12. Dont' Bother Me
13. Hey Jude Duke & Dukie
14. Things We Said Today
15. Yellow Submarine

The Hot Club Of San Francisco goes Fab! The venerable Gypsy Swing Combo interprets The Beatles on the gorgeous new album 'John, Paul, George & Django. It was only a matter of time before guitarist Paul Mehling focused his creative mojo on Lennon and McCartney's vast and enduring treasure trove of songs. The founder and guiding spirit of the Hot Club of San Francisco, America's longest running Gypsy swing ensemble, Mehling was first inspired to pick up a guitar when the Beatles launched the British Invasion via Ed Sullivan's show on Feb. 9, 1964. Now Mehling's HCSF is recolonizing the Fab Four's songbook in the name of Gypsy jazz legend Django Reinhardt with John, Paul, George and Django, a ravishing and consistently revelatory reimagining of classic Beatles tunes. 'We've been road testing arrangements and tune selections for several years and it's just gold,' Mehling says. 'These tunes were really well crafted, and our job is to present the songs through our prism. Our vision can be summed up as WWDD?: What Would Django Do? What if he hadn't died, and had lived long enough to interpret Beatles songs? Because you know he totally would have.'