Monday, December 19, 2016

USA: Bill Anschell-Rumbler (2017)

After a decade of recording mostly unscripted, improvised albums focused on his deep musical relationships with a few key players, pianist Bill Anschell returns to recording his own compositions and arrangements on 'Rumbler,' his fifteenth as a leader or co-leader. Anschell penned eight of the eleven tracks as well as arrangements of Thelonious Monk's 'Misterioso' and Paul McCartney's 'For No One. ' Mostly written on the road in planes and hotel rooms, 'Rumbler' doubles as a musical travelogue, especially vivid in its reflection of experiences from his touring in South America over the last several years. Anschell is joined by a stellar cast of Seattle musicians, plus a guest appearance by Nashville saxophonist Jeff Coffin on the title track. The album closes with a moving, fully improvised solo expression of Duke Ellington's under-recorded 'Reflections in D.'