Saturday, November 12, 2016

SWITZERLAND/GERMANY: Matti Oehl Quartett-Ornament(Unit Records 2016)

Matti Oehl - alto saxophone
Johannes Enders - tenor saxophone
Robert Lucaciu - bass
Tom Friedrich - drums
The new quartet of german saxophonist and composer Matti Oehl includes musicians looking for pure melodies, setting their musical roots into the context of jazz and experimenting with composed and improvised material to their limits. The band includes german jazz legend Johannes Enders on tenor saxophone, the double-bass virtuoso Robert Lucaciu and young upcoming drummer Tom Friedrich. Despite lacking a harmonic instrument, the four know how to not let you miss one, using different energy, densitiy and dynamics. The compositions by Matti Oehl are the solid ground to start from, open to all influences and specially arranged for the performing musicians. UNIT RECORDS