Friday, August 26, 2016

USA: Carol Duboc - Open The Curtains (2016)

Open the Curtains
01. In Pieces (Feat. Mindi Abair & Sheila E.) (3:28)
02. Feeling Good (Feat. Patrice Rushen & Rhonda Smith) (3:46)
03. Open The Curtains (Feat. Patrice Rushen) (4:51)
04. Forget Me Nots (Feat. Patrice Rushen & Bibi McGill) (5:00)
05. Whisper (Feat. Patrice Rushen) (4:27)
06. Faces (Feat. Patrice Rushen & Jennifer Batten) (3:43)
07. Fever (Feat. Aubrey Logan) (4:09)
08. Miss You Missing Me (3:25)
09. Precious (Feat. Mindi Abair) (3:57)
10. I'm Gone (Feat. Jennifer Batten) (4:51)
Open The Curtains has a star-studded line-up of musicians, who not only happen to be women but who are also some of the baddest musicians to grace this planet including; percussionist Sheila E., pianist/vocalist Patrice Rushen, saxophonist Mindi Abair, guitarists Bibi McGill and Jennifer Batten, drummer Queen Cora Coleman, bassist Rhonda Smith and trombonist and singer Aubrey Logan. Collectively these women have collaborated with everyone from Stevie Wonder, Carlos Santana and Prince to Michael Jackson, Pink and BeyoncĂ©, and beautifully carry Duboc’s message of female strength, wisdom and independence forward with grace, brawn and undeniable hipness. While seven of the ten songs on Open The Curtains are originals penned by Carol, she chooses to pay tribute to a trio of women who have long inspired her – Nina Simone, Patrice Rushen and Peggy Lee.The album introduces six new originals written by me, as well as the song “Precious” I wrote and arranged for Chante Moore and three songs written or made famous by female jazz artists including “Fever” (Peggy Lee,) Forget Me Nots” (Patrice Rushen,) and “Feeling Good” (Nina Simone.) On the title cut, I introduce my 9 year old daughter, who is an amazing music prodigy and vocalist!