Monday, August 22, 2016

USA: Andrew Cyrille Quartet -The Declaration Of Musical Independence (2016)

The Declaration Of Musical Independence 
The great avant-jazz drummer Andrew Cyrille whose associations have ranged from a long, vintage collaboration with Cecil Taylor to co-leading current all-star collective Trio 3 with Oliver Lake and Reggie Workman makes his ECM leader debut with The Declaration of Musical Independence.

Featuring a quartet with guitar luminary Bill Frisell, keyboardist Richard Teitelbaum and bassist Ben Street, the album kicks off with an artfully oblique interpretation of John Coltranes Coltrane Time, led by Cyrilles solo drum intro.

The disc then features a sequence of sonically arresting originals, including Streets luminous Say... and Frisells deeply felt Kaddish and Song for Andrew, with Frisells guitar alternately cutting and billowing, the edge evoking some of his most illustrious past ECM performances.

There are three atmospheric spontaneous compositions by the band including the dynamic soundscape, Dazzling (Perchordally Yours) -- that highlight Cyrilles individual sense of percussive drama. Cyrille appeared on classic ECM and WATT LPs by the likes of Marion Brown, Carla Bley and the Jazz Composers Orchestra, but this album puts a deserved spotlight on an icon of jazz drumming.