Monday, January 11, 2016

USA: Jae Sinnett - Zero to 60 (2016)

Zero to 60, Jae Sinnett

1. Double Dribble 5:25
2. Farm Hands 8:11
3. Quail Creek 10:49
4. Hans Up! 7:22
5. Watch Your Step 5:12
6. Never Let Me Go 7:12
7. Bowen's Arrow 4:28
8. Whispering Souls 6:57
9. Zero to 60 4:36
10. Omega 9:58

Zero to 60 is Jae’s 14th recording as a leader and marks his return to straight up jazz featured in the classic jazz quartet setting – tenor saxophone, acoustic piano, acoustic bass and drums.  Zero to 60 also showcases the growth of the composer with nine original compositions by Jae and one classic standard, Never Let Me Go.  The musicians joining Jae for this session are saxophonist Ralph Bowen, pianist Allen Farnham and bassist Hans Glawischnig.  Each is an accomplished band leader, in-demand sideman, and all are tremendously respected by their contemporaries.  They are the perfect complement to Jae’s swinging, musically soulful, rhythmically hip-shifting drumming.

The music on Zero To 60 presents each musician unique harmonic, melodic and rhythmic challenges.  What makes this music stand out though is within this complexity, you can walk away remembering what you’ve heard.  Melodies you can hum and remember.  Then there is the swing beat.  Wow!  Zero To 60 swings as hard as any swinging jazz you’ve ever heard over the past 30 years!  There is incredible passion in this music and it’s balanced with beautiful melodic continuity over advanced layers of harmonic and rhythmic textures.  The music invites you in to join it.  Like a warm friend you enjoy spending time with and getting to know.