Wednesday, January 6, 2016

USA: Dave Douglas Quintet, Brazen Heart (Greenleaf Music 2015)

Brazen Heart cover art
Dave's longstanding quintet, one of the best bands working in jazz today, featuring Jon Irabagon (saxophones), Matt Mitchell (piano), Linda Oh (bass) and Rudy Royston (drums). Brazen Heart is a heart-felt remembrance of Douglas' brother, featuring a batch of great new original compositions, as well as two spirituals, Deep River and There Is A Balm In Gilead. This new material grew out of the band's extensive travels around the United State and Europe in Douglas' 50th birthday year.

Dave Douglas - trumpet and compositions
Jon Irabagon - saxophones
Matt Mitchell - piano
Linda Oh - bass
Rudy Royston - drums