Tuesday, December 15, 2015

GERMANY Solveig Slettahjell & Knut Reiersrud with In the Country – Trail of Souls (ACT 2015)

“Connecting the unexpected” is the motto of Jazz at Berlin Philharmonic, a concert series curated and produced by ACT label boss Siggi Loch, which began in December 2012. A carefully selected unifying theme runs through each programme, alongside imaginative juxtapositions of musicians brought together specifically for the occasion, in some cases for the first time. This formula has not just proved a hit with audiences; musicians have also taken to it with a particular zeal. The artists and the spectators who attended the ‘Norwegian Woods’ edition of the series in March 2014 experienced an amazing evening. Loch had assembled the A-team of Norwegian jazz, and created the unexpected by combining them with a guest artist from a different musical realm:Solveig Slettahjell was one such artist welcomed back into the fold.

1 Borrowed Time
2 Grandma's Hands
3 Mercy Street
4 Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child
5 Come Healing
6 Is My Living In Vain
7 Holy Joe
8 Trouble In Mind
9 His Eye Is On The Sparrow
10 I Don't Feel Noways Tired
11 Soul Of A Man

Solveig Slettahjell / vocals
Knut Reiersrud / guitars & harmonica