Wednesday, October 14, 2015

UK/NORWAY: Medbøe/Eriksen/Halle - The Space Between - Released on Losen Records 15 November 2015

Three musicians of distinction joining their richly creative musical experiences into a cohesive work of unequaled elegance. The deep connection between Haftor Medbøe the composer of the 7 pieces and a remarkable poet of the guitar with pianist Espen Eriksen and trumpeter Gunnar Halle gives the interplay a noble touch. Could be ambient, jazz or experimental, yet what it counts in the end is the spiritual edge of their effort that brings the listener into a vibrating universe of beauty made of multiple spaces, shadows and sparks of  light. Floating in the Northern sky, piano, guitar and trumpet, embrace subtle unpredictable harmonies punctuated by textural electronics, glowing fluidity in the dark. Immerse yourself in the grace of their music and discover the hidden treasures of "The Space Between"

Haftor Medbøe (guitar), Espen Eriksen (piano) and Gunnar Halle
(trumpet) played together for the first time in an extended line-up
for the 2013 Edinburgh Jazz Festival, UK. The musical chemistry
between the three musicians inspired the stripped-down trio setting
that made its debut at Edinburgh Jazz Festival in 2015 to a rapturous
audience. The subsequent album, that features seven original
compositions by Medbøe, was recorded in the prestigious Castlesound
studios, located in the historic village of Pencaitland, Scotland.
Themes from both sides of the North Sea intertwine with cultural
echoes from further afield. The trio setting affords each of the
musicians in the trio unparalleled space in which to explore depth and
breadth of tone and dynamics, while challenging them to extend their
normal roles within the ensemble. The Space Between is released on
Losen Records in early November. This recording was supported by
Creative Scotland.