Monday, April 29, 2013

Caecilie Norby - SILENT WAYS (ACT 2013)

Guided only from her heart, the danish singer Caecilie Norby creates a powerful and thrilling album with her favourite songs and melodies.

Line Up: 
Cæcilie Norby / vocals
Lars Danielsson / cello, bass, acoustic guitars, tambourine
Leszek Możdżer / piano
Nguyên Lê / electric guitars, electronics
Robert Mehmet Ikiz / drums & percussion

Further Musicians: 
Special Guest:
Marius Neset / tenor & soprano sax

Now, with her second ACT album "Silent Ways" she goes back in the other direction to some extent. She selected a dozen of her favourite singer/songwriter melodies – including "Hymnen" by herself and her husband, and charged them up with classical and jazz influences. The almost chamber-musical, tranquil form hinted at by the album's name is classical, as is the emotional expressiveness of her interpretations – just listen to her meditative, almost spiritual versions of the Leonard-Cohen songs "Winter Lady" and "In My Secret Life". The jazzy approach lies in the singing technique, in the arrangement, and of course the hand-picked musicians in the band improvising magically together.